Bingo VG - Very Good!

Banned By Cassava – Your Stories

Play Costa Bingo!

Over the last month or so, I’ve heard from lots of people about their bans by Cassava Bingo. These are regular bingo players that have been accused of bonus abuse and abusing free games, which is a sham. The simple fact is, they all have one thing in common, they have withdrawn their winnings from the site. You can read more details on the background to this story here.

Cassava are the largest supplier of bingo sites that target the UK market. Unfortunately, they are not licensed under the UK’s gaming regulations, so the UK’s Gambling Commission is powerless to help. If they were registered in the UK, their practices would not be acceptable and they would not be allowed to operate unless they addressed a number of serious failings in their terms and conditions, and treatment of players.

They stand accused of the following treatment of UK players.

  • Withholding prize money won fairly by UK bingo players.
  • Using spurious and undefined terms and conditions to ban players who don’t spend their winnings at the site they won them at.
  • Causing mental hurt and anguish by cutting players off from their bingo friends with no warning and no way of contacting their friends to let them know what has happened to them.
  • Encouraging problem gamblers – Cassava are not interested in players who win and take their winnings with them. They want players who once they’ve won at the site, lose all their winnings at the same site.
  • Failing to define what constitutes bonus abuse and overuse of free bingo.
  • Failing to put in place a system that stops bonus abuse by stopping reload bonuses when withdrawals are pending.
  • False advertising. Cassava sites such as Costa and Cheeky Bingo advertise themselves as free bingo sites, yet if you play to much free bingo and withdraw bingo winnings, you will be banned. They adverts also fail to mention that there is a limit to how much free bingo you can play.

If you’ve found yourself on the end of one of these bans, visit our Cassava Ban Action Page to see what you can do to get your money back, an what we’re doing to publicise this behaviour.

Vital Statistics

On this page are the complaints we’ve received across a number of different methods – email, forums, comments. This is the totals for what you will see on this page.

Total unique complaints featured: 71
Total prize money withheld by Cassava: £83,758

Your Experiences Of Cassava Bans

Collected here are your stories of what happened to you at Cassava Bingo. It makes for disgusting reading, and is upsetting – I rate Cassava as one of the better bingo experiences for players, and still do. They need to cease this behaviour instantly, and reinstate players that have suffered from this misguided behaviour. We’re hoping to publicise these problems in the hope of forcing just that action.

All people who’ve contacted us about this problem are identified by their initials only The first lot of complaints are from people who contacted us via our special contact page. After that I have compiled complaints made in the comments of posts here, and on a couple of our forums.

If you’re from the wider media and would like to cover this story, please contact us as we can supply contact details for these people, and a number have already expressed a preference to talk on camera about their issues. All the stories listed below have happened in the last 12 – 18 months.

J. J. Of Darlington, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £30

“I had an email saying I’d abused their bonus offers. I always play and deposit on a new site when they open, some sites I redeposit on if I’ve enjoyed more than others. Banned from all Cassava sites to do with Brigend. Funny as my mother has been banned too a few months before me. I find it unfair, they shouldn’t offer bonuses on sites as when you win they won’t let you have it if they ban you.”

E. R. Of Irvine, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0

“Had played Costa been a member for 1 and 1/2 years no problem, played most days without issue. Also joined Redbus when they emailed me. Was friends with other player in chat and Facebook on Costa. Withdrew winnings on regular basis. Lost some days but mostly won. Out of the blue they blocked my account due to bonus abuse. I emailed them apologised told them I had only played bonuses they offered, appealed to them but no, they banned all my accounts, had to hound them to refund money. Luckily I had note of amount outstanding. Lost chat friends, all in all really bad. Worst bit is that the site in itself is great, nice people, CMs and great games. The company cannot be allowed to treat its customers in such an appalling way.”

J. R. Of Irvine, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £479

“Had accounts with Costa, Redbus, Tasty and just recently received e mail with invite to join Cheeky, so signed up there. Then two weeks after joining Cheeky got e mail from them saying bonus abuse and advising that all my Cassava accounts were closed. I’ve had my Costa account for two years with no abuse, similar with other Cassava accounts. How can I have abused this site only played bonuses they emailed me to use and joined few weeks with. I won with bonuses and withdrew winnings, surely their system would not have permitted me to commit ANY abuse. If they don’t want people to use bonuses DON’T make them available surely, rather than accuse people of such things. I’m still emailing them as although Cheeky have informed me that they have refunded money in account. Costa have not yet advised money refunded even though NO abuse apparently on their site.”

G. D. Of Antrim, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0

“I had self-banned from 888Ladies because it was rubbish,kept my other accounts open,they blocked them all saying I was abusing their system, went through T&Cs does not state that once you ban off one, you will be removed from every single one, they treated me like a criminal.”

H. P. Of Liverpool, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £300

“Banned me off gossip bingo and closed all my other accounts.”

E. K. Of Aberdeen, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0

“I was a regular player at quite a few Cassava operated sites over a number of years. I was banned without warning July 2010. At the time I had just under £1000 in winnings between two of their sites. After numerous emails, I was advised I was abusing the bonuses offered as would withdraw winnings and re-deposit repeatedly to gain the bonus. I tried to explain that if there was a choice to opt out of the bonus then I would. I also told them that quite a lot of my winnings came from playing slots which bonus cash cannot be used on. My comments were ignored, as was my request to release my winnings. I eventually received the money they owed me after about 6 weeks. I often wonder if they have a computerised system which allows people to win the more they deposit and wager, as before I played slots I did not tend to win that much!”

D. H. Of Addlestone, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0

“Was quite successful playing for a few months. Would deposit, play, if I won I would withdraw and either go to another site or re-deposit. Didnt always win however, on some days I would lose up to £200. Was a member of several Cassava sites; Costa, Posh, Wink but Foxy was my main one – had reached Gold player status (ie;they had encouraged me to deposit) on Foxy and Costa. Even won a holiday to Vegas on there a couple of years ago. With no warning I got the bonus abuse e-mail and that was the end of it. No-one would speak to me and they also banned my husband on the same day for the same reasons even though he had probably only played 3 or 4 times in a year and used a different bank account. Have tried the GRA but as you say it was a waste of time as they said I had breached the terms and conditions?”

A. B. Of Wymondham, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £65

“Suddenly banned for playing free games excessively even though I also paid for tickets. Just as I neared the 30.00 and went to withdraw it my accounts have been closed and I have not had winnings.”

L.C. Of Norwich, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £25

“I played along with my partner after being introduced through her via their email invites. After a couple of months and having just a few small wins, was suddenly banned on security reasons and then it emerged because of playing free games. Triggered after winning 25.00 at Foxy, now banned from all Cassava sites. Had balances in City and Costa and Moon too but cannot access them. They have been disgraceful.”

J. G. Of Stockton-on-Tees, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0

“I was banned from Wink in Dec 09 but was never given a reason other than “security issues”. I asked if sending them ID would unlock the account but they never replied. I was a low depositor but won on a fairly regular basis and always withdrew. £800 was my highest win earlier the same year but was “funded” by a couple of wins on free bingo less than an hour earlier, which I’m convinced was the catalyst. However one thing I did do a couple of times which I guess could be classed as bonus abuse is reverse a withdrawal (say £10) then roll up a smaller win (say £5) so although Im sure its thelow spend & regular withdrawals that caused the ban, if push came to shove they have a “legit” reason too, although they have no problem letting me play on their sister sites.”

V. L. Of Eastbourne, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0.

“‘Taking advantage of their generosity’ by playing for free and winning for real – which is exactly what they,advertise on TV!”

K. M. Of Birmingham, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £310.

“Blocked and unable to give me anymore details.”

P. R. Of Irvine, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0.

“Out of the blue with no warning had both my accounts with Costa & Redbus closed. They withheld my winnings then eventually paid them to me. No idea why they stated Bonus abuse, though I argued only played with bonuses they gave me and used options they permitted on site. How can they possibly argue abuse when only using options they permit? Sent many emails asking to explain bonus abuse only to receive standard email saying this was breach of T&C. So asked which term and condition specific was broken, just kept getting answer broke T&C, couldn’t tell me which one(s). ALL BAD.”

L. D. Of Milcombe, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £500.

“I apparently abused the bonus facility and withdrew regularly. I was in profit most months. My husbands account was terminated too for the same reason, although we could find nothing in the terms/conditions about not being able to have 2 accounts only stipulation is 1 account per person which we stuck to.”

P. T. Of Telford, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0.

“Same as others. Standard email saying bonus abuse etc. I have already purchased cards for the monthly game too so what happens if I win that?!”

J. H. Of Runcorn, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £100.

“I think the two reasons were I was related to my mum who also had an account and I won more than I deposited. They accused me of playing ‘professionally’ which if their games were decided by a random number generator would be impossible.”

M. C. Of York, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0.

“Banned from all cassava sites for bonus abuse. I only played free bingo.”

D. Of London, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £200.

“I was banned for so called bonus abuse! I explained to them that I couldn’t have possibly been ‘abusing’ the bonus as every time I withdrew the money they took the bonus back anyway! They are a total set of a******s, after I threatened to get a solicitor involved and told them that their terms and conditions made no sense whatsoever they eventually paid up after about 2 months of constant emails. I emailed them daily and stated that I would never ever leave them alone until they paid up and basically gave them a load of foul language and abuse, they then paid up. Glad to be rid of them to be honest!”

C. M. Of Gateshead, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0.

“Banned for bonus abuse, no idea why as I regularly forfeited bonuses to withdraw, and mainly played on slots which can only be played from cash stakes. I had won just before they banned me and had several withdrawals pending. They banned me at approximately 10pm on the easter bank holiday Monday, so no withdrawals would have been processed for nearly a week. At the time they owed me hundreds which they were refusing to pay. Several email later they have paid me my winnings, however I can’t be sure if its the full amount as they’d closed my account and despite several requests refused to provide me with details. The timing of closing my account was very suspicious as if to get the maximum deposits from me whilst withdrawals were not processed over the holiday period. I always redeposited rather than reversed withdrawals, often because it took them so long to process them and because the minimum withdrawal is far more than the minimum deposit.”

J. B. Of Chichester, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1600.

“Hi, I won money and so did my partner. In fact they owe him £1,000 and me £1,600. We spent more than we won, on slots I kept withdrawing then depositing, didn’t think I was doing any thing wrong. I really need the money very upset about this.”

A. K. Of Alton, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £162.

“I have about ten accounts across the various bingo sites owned by Cassava. I would play all of them on a regular basis (some daily and some weekly). I would cash-out my winnings. I would play free bingo on some sites and deposit to play paid bingo on other sites. At the time of being banned I was owed £161.56.”

L. M. Of Hebden Bridge, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £100.

“They said I had deposited, then banked, forfeiting points, and deposited again to get the points which I had never done.”

C. B. Of Duckinfield, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £300.

“Several accounts banned and winnings withheld. Members of my family have had their accounts banned despite following Cassava rules. I clearly have a gambling problem, but Cassava don’t prevent an individual from signing up like other bingo networks, instead they fleece you.”

P. Of Maldon, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £500.

“Joined bingo approximately 18 months ago. I usually deposit £20.00, when I win £30.00 and above I withdraw. I belong to 6 sites of all I play regular then received email to say my account been blocked, rang City Bingo customer service who had no idea but to email Cassava. I have written to Watchdog, commissions of gambling, etc. I don’t hold out much luck but what it has made me realise I will never play bingo etc again. At the moment Cassava are taking money out of my account I’m assuming it delayed payments although odd amounts as I only played in multiples of £20.00 pounds and today they wanted £177.99. I got in touch with bank and stopped account although they owe me 500.00 approx winnings on their various sites. I’m scared what they will do as account blocked for them withdrawing although the bank did say they may well still be able to take. I am going to bank at 12.00 today. I feel sick with the stress but to feel like I’m not the only one has helped. Thank you for having this page and I will be telling everyone I know.”

D. L. Of Wigan, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £150.

“My ban followed a spell of good fortune I’d had on the sites, co-incidence? I doubt it.”

C. W. Of Merthyr Tydfil, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £120.

“I had the email saying I had been abusing the bonus offer, even though when I win my bonus get taken back off me anyway. They are saying I won’t get my pending withdrawals even though they happily took £100 of deposits from my bank shortly before the ban. I will do everything in my power to expose them as the lying thieving cheats they are. I usually put a tenner a day in and every 3-4 days Id win enough to withdraw, thus losing my bonus. I always withdrew as soon as I hit £30 unless I was fancying a few games of slots.”

V. B. Of Huddersfield, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £120.

“From Cassava security: As a responsible company we are continually monitoring our sites. leads us to believe that your reason for joining our site was to take advantage of the bonuses we provide. With regards to your account, this has been reviewed and the decision to permanently discontinue your membership still stands. This decision is final and has only been taken after careful consideration of all factors involved. To protect the integrity of City Bingo and to prevent further such abuse we have decided to block your account permanently. This is entirely in line with our Terms & Conditions to which you willingly signed up to when joining us.”

R. S. Of Southampton, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0.

“I received an email from Cassava stating that I had been abusing the free bingo games shortly after winning a £50 game. I don’t play excessively especially compared to other players who are members of many bingo sites and so far haven’t been banned.”

P. K. Of Lincoln, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £77.

“I played for two weeks on Cheeky before being banned. I joined 5 sites in all as they all had the same software which made it so easy to play and offered free play. At the time I did not realise they were all the same company. I took advantage of the first time depositor bonus rooms on 3 sites, made profit and withdrew my winnings. Two sites have paid, I am still waiting on City Bingo. With Cheeky I deposited £5, played for 2 more days and once my balance went over £30 I withdrew. (They even encourage you to do this) I was banned 2 days later for abuse of free games, I am still waiting for the money.”

P. L. Of Cardiff, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £67.

“Been with Cheeky for two years, accused of misusing bonus. It says in email, I only joined to take
advantage of their bonuses. It’s a permanent ban, I’ve contacted cheeky by phone, they said can’t do
anything, not their problem, contact Cassava.”

M. J. Of Burton-on-Trent, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £31.

“Excessive free bingo use apparently. I play on quite a few sites. Costa being the big one. Free bingo mostly. Occasionally use deposit bonuses only if they are very good as return to player percentages are terrible. Recommended them to a few of my friends and they have all been banned as well except for the one who doesn’t withdraw and spends her winnings on bingo. She doesn’t quite get that it can be profitable.”

J. M. Of London, July 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £100.

“I was told last week I’d been banned for excessive use of the bonuses.”

K. H. Of Calne, July 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0.

“I was blocked with no warning, all I did was put limit on account. I do admit I signed up with a few of the sites run by Cassava. I limited my deposits that’s when I was banned there, the reason on their email was security issues. I tried to find a phone number for cassava which I found one dialled it and surprise, surprise it’s no longer in use…”

A. J. From The Canary Islands, July 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £104.

“Although I deposited when I opened the account, I have today received an email blocking me from Sing Bingo due to excessive free bingo use, as they put it. (I put in my 1st withdrawal request a couple of days ago)”

M. M. From Engen, July 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1160.

“Please help me, I have won over 1300€ and I don’t play only free bingo, I play with my money, please can you help me?”

Complaints Posted Elsewhere

The above complaints are from people who contacted us directly via the special contact page we have for people banned by Cassava. The below complaints come from comments here at Bingo.VG and forums at sites we run.

E. Location Not Given, July 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £900.

“I am registered with lots of sites mainly the cassava ones, the 3 main ones I play are Little Big Bingo, Biggest Bingo and Bingo Wags, the 2 latter are part of the same network and are in theory the same site, although I was advised by CM’s and players that you can have one account with each site, ie Biggest Bingo, Wags, Ballroom, Kiss My Bingo and loads more. As far as I am aware Little Big Bingo is now stand alone, since it changed from think bingo cosy it is no longer part of the think network. Today, I discovered ALL my accounts with Cassava have been disabled, and was advised this was due to security issues, even the ones I have not used in ages. To my knowledge I have not done anything wrong. My main worry is that I have over £900 in pending withdrawals, as I withdraw and redeposit to gain the bonus. Has anyone else been in a similar situation?”

S. K. Location Not Given, July 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: Undisclosed.

“I play various sites, but only ever use ones that are in the Cassava Group as I trusted these sites and the depositing and withdrawing methods. I went to deposit today and could not, I was told my card was blocked. Checked my bank, all was fine there and the support on the on-line bingo sites said that I had to e-mail security, which I did. They got back to me saying that they have terminated my account. The reason being that I only deposited when there was a bonus on offer. I cannot believe it. the bingo sites e-mail you to tell you they have a bonus on offer and because I took advantage of what was offered they have terminated my account. This just does not make sense to me. Also I have various bits of winnings due to me from several sites, do I lose these winnings surely that is not right? I have never tried to open a duplicate account and as far as I was aware I was doing nothing wrong. Also if they believed I was abusing the accounts, why did they not warn me so that I could rectify what was wrong? My main concern is getting my winnings which surely I am still entitled to?”

B. P. Location Not Given, August 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £150.

“I’ve just stumbled across this site because of an issue with not being able to log into my Moon Bingo or Polo accounts (which are twinned). I’ve played on them for ages and have £150 pending withdrawal on Polo. Their hosts don’t seem to know what’s going on but I think I do now! On Sunday night, being low on funds and not wanting to re-deposit I went onto one I hadn’t used for a while which had a few bonus points left to play with (I think it was Tasty but not sure). The Chat Host asked me why I hadn’t taken advantage of the first deposit bonus and free gift and in a chatty way I just said that I was trying to be good as I’d overspent a bit. She then said “Gambling issues Hun?” and I said “well it can become addictive”. Then she amazed me by saying that because I had mentioned gambling issues (err no – she did) she would have to cancel “all accounts”. Well I knew they were affiliated to Wink and Posh and Red Bus (I think but I only use Wink occasionally). I wasn’t too worried. Now I realise that what she meant was all Cassava associated sites which covers a heck of a lot more!! What a scam! I’ll be livid if I don’t get my £150 and I certainly don’t hold out any hopes of it having read your problems! It’s outrageous that they can use any old excuse to do this. I’m only small fry in the world of gambling – I don’t have “gambling issues” – I haven’t blown the housekeeping money, just a tenner or twenty here and there. This really needs to be brought to someone’s attention as it is conning people.”

L. Location Not Given, September 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1800.

“I played at Foxy Bingo last week and was having no luck on bingo so played roulette. I couldn’t seem to put a foot wrong and was up by about £1600 for my £25.00 Ukash voucher deposit. I ended up withdrawing £1000.00 and was so excited as I never really win a lot and if I do I end up spending it back on the site! Well this was Friday 6th August and after this while my withdrawal was pending I decided to deposit again, as I didn’t want to break into the £1000 I’d won, I just deposited through my bank. Again I did this on Sunday, but later on Sunday night when I tried my account had been blocked. I emailed customer support and had a message back telling my account had been blocked as there were security issues relating to an account attached to my Foxy Bingo one. I have since emailed about 6-7 times and spoken to Cassava customer services twice on the phone. Every e-mail I get is almost identical, saying that they can’t tell me anything about it (my account) what a cheek. What I think the real problem is, is that I have finally won some money and they’ll do anything they can not to pay out. Well I will most definitely not be letting it drop until I get my money, and I’ll tell anyone who will listen also! Foxy bingo is sponsored by the ‘Jeremy Kyle Show’ so I will be getting in touch with the show to let them know what kind of site they are being sponsored by. Also I will go to the newspapers to highlight the way that these sites are ripping off its unsuspecting customers!”

X. C. Location Not Given, September 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1200.

“Yes I am having exactly the same problem. They have set me an email saying that they are closing all my accounts as I have been ‘abusing their bonuses’. It’s a complete joke. I have emailed them back and they just keep sending the exact same email. Something needs to be done about this. They just don’t want you to win. I am not giving up though. They owe me about £1200. I think we should all go to the press if necessary and expose these sites for what they are!”

B. Location Not Given, September 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: Undisclosed.
“Hate feeling ripped off and cheated. If a site is not playing fair then what chance do you have, I would just like to know how when there are regularly taking funds from your bank without a peep how there is suddenly a serious security issue when you want to withdraw. Surely if there was a security issue it would even more so apply to when there are taking funds from your bank account. What’s that Cassava? Oh yeah you make the rules up as you go along to suit yourselves! Lol can you tell I’m angry I have now composed a poem for Cassava as a thank you for my wonderful treatment, here goes. Come back in your account there’s a bonus we miss you, oh you won umm sorry a security issue. We like you to deposit, we’re all getting rich but if you try to withdraw then honey you’re ditched! Oh no you can’t phone us, no we wont speak to you coz we are Cassava and we treat you like poo. Well goodbye Cassava I’m not acting rash coz Never again will you steal my cash”

C. W. Location Not Given, September 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £2000.

“I was banned from all of Cassava powered sites back in January. They refused to discuss with me why I was banned, the only reason I got was ‘security issues’. I played all sites owned operated by Foxy (Cashcade, Scotland, Think, you name it I played it), Wink, BBR and 888ladies, to name a few. Winning the biggest jackpots on every site at least once, with my final big prize of a car at Xmas from 888. The reason why I was really banned was because a member of management at Foxy ‘hq’ got fed up seeing my name appearing on the big JP winners list too often, especially on their competitors sites after Foxy had been plugging my name and piccie on their winners’ pages over the years.They have withheld thousands of pounds worth of prizes on various sites for my ex-partner, my sister and myself, with no recourse for any of us. My crime was having 2 active accounts so I have no grounds for appeal, having reviewed their terms and conditions the GRA will not even consider anything. Their standard reply is take it up with the site, but these sites do not have an official complaints procedure – so how can we contact their complaints section? This is also a beach of their licence which I have examined! I could go on and on, after having keep my mouth shut for the last 6 months, I thought it was only my family, friends and myself who had been affected but this is quite obviously not the case. Players have very few peeps fighting their corner, their is a few voices, but the big companies just squash us down like flies”

H. B. Location Not Given, September 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1800.

“I’m going through the same thing this time with THINK BINGO which again is part of the Cassava Enterprises who also have Moon, Foxy, Redbus, Cheeky to name just a few. I have had my accounts closed with the only reason being for a security issue that there unable to discuss with me? But like yourself I have money pending on Think Bingo after a win on the slots £1800 I went into there so called help room tonight and was told there is a issue and your winnings are not being processed! Then they had the cheek to say someone will email you as soon as they can! I advised this is not good enough so they gave me email direct I am aware they can close your accounts if they think you are using the bonus more than once but this is only account I have on Think Bingo so I wont be letting the matter just go away and I wont accept there bogus reasons which seems to be the trend with this company.”

H. Location Not Given, November 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1000.

“I seem to have been ripped off by the a Cassava site too, I was only a member for two weeks, so the only bonus I got was their introductory offer. I had the cheek on Cheeky Bingo to win £1000,00. I does not look as if I will ever see it, the day after the two days holding were over I found my account blocked and I was told it was a security issue! I have e-mailed them and just keep getting the brush off, surely this business is illegal, it seems fine if you don’t win or small amounts. I think it would be interesting if there was some way of finding out who if anyone actually gets their winnings if its over a certain amount, I am not giving up my claim so if anyone has any ideas on how I should proceed I would be grateful”

D. B. Location Not Given, November 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1200.

“I too have had the same issues, were I joined 2 of their sites WeLuvBingo and Gossip. I mainly gambled on the roulette and then would use the bonus money too play bingo with (cause you can’t play on the roulette with the bonus money). I have been quite lucky on their sites and have won a bit of money totalling about £1200. But I had gambled most of it and won from roulette. I cashed out & then I could not log into most of their sites. I too got a email from their security dept, stating that I had abused their reload bonus. I sent them an email telling them that I mainly play roulette & used the bonus money for bingo as I was entitled to it and after all, it’s pasted all over their sites too keep reloading for these bonuses (I’m confused). I agree with the other comments that they are happy to take your money when you’re losing but as soon as you win they don’t like it!

O. Location Not Given, November 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £60.

“I logged in 2 weeks ago to find out all my accounts with Cassava were blocked. No warning, just the same email everyone else has received. They owed me a very small pending withdrawal, which they said they were not going to pay me. I eventually emailed them to tell them they obviously needed my £60 more than I did. Next morning, I received the usual confirmation email of my withdrawal. They are disgusting – Well, to my mine fraudsters! In the run up to this, I was constantly asking Ch’s ‘Have you seen ‘so and so’ because a lot of regulars were disappearing. Now I know why.”

A. J. Location Not Given, December 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £180.

“I played on Posh bingo yesterday, deposited £40 in total. I played Fluffy Favourite slots, my favourite game, and withdrew in total £650. I had £180 remaining as a balance and tried to log on again this morning. Received a message stating my log in details were incorrect. I checked my emails and there was an email from Posh stating my account had been closed due to security issues! I have replied to their email asking whether my withdrawals will be processed as I found it highly suspicious that I had withdrawn only to have my account closed. I am awaiting a response but I would also like the £180 balance on the account refunded too. I understand that bingo is supposed to be fun, however they are quick enough to take our money even when depositing a lot, but when we want to withdraw they decide we have problems? I will be taking this higher as I this is MY money that I won! I think the reason could be that Cassava now have too many sites open and aren’t as profitable as they would like to be. I was lucky by winning, or so I thought – they should advertise our wins to try and pull more people in rather than penalising us for a bit of good luck and making us feel like we have done something wrong. I am fuming!”

A. Location Not Given, December 2010

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1000.

“I’ve just been banned from all cassava sites too, they say I’m abusing tut tut sour grapes I was winning. Must be up about £1000 overall after playing sites for a year, awaiting some payouts all smallish amounts will see if I get. I can still log onto some sites, they haven’t been blocked yet, but I daren’t play.”

B. N. Location Not Given, January 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £2000.

“What an absolute joke these lot are! Like a lot of people, I have had accounts on a number of different Cassava sites. Whenever I have moved on I closed the previous account as thought there might be a problem in having lots of active accounts. A day after I joined the latest one (and interestingly, having won a couple of thousand) I received an email saying that because I had closed another account they were now going to block my new one and any others I tried to open. I wasn’t terribly impressed but thought, okay, no great loss as long as I get my money back. That was two weeks ago and I am still trying to get the money from them, having been initially told it would be in my account within 10 days, I am now being told it is ‘being processed’. No-one can tell me when this is likely to be completed or why it has taken so long. Emails are either ignored or responded to three days later with a pro-forma response that doesn’t actually give any answers. The folk on the freephone helpline are as useful as the proverbial chocolate teapot and can’t pass you to anyone who might be able to help as apparently the managers and accounts people are physically incapable of answering the phone! I intend to keep pestering them and will also make an official complaint about their incompetence but something really needs to be done about them. Their underhand ways of getting rid of players when they are winning is beyond belief.”

L. Location Not Given, January 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1000.

“I am so glad that there are other people in the same position as me. I have played a lot of bingo sites and tend to play for a while then self exclude myself, but what I didn’t realise is that you exclude yourself from one site belonging to Cassava you actually ban yourself from all of them. But there is so many of them that I actually been playing on a few like sing Bingo Fabulous and I signed up for Shampoo Bingo and deposited £100 and won £1000 on slots so I withdrew it. Next day I received a email to say they have blocked my account and will not pay me out but I have been playing on others and if I won they paid me out. Have phoned them this evening and they said I have to speak to security by email so have ranted at them . How can they withhold my winnings when the other bingo sites have paid me out I will not let this drop and am very surprised at how many others they are withholding winnings from.”

A. Location Not Given, February 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £248.

“I have recently received an email from Cassava saying they were closing all my accounts as I had previously asked to be self excluded from two of the sites. this doesn’t bother me but I was pending a withdrawal of £248 and now they say they will not pay our as I have broke the t&c’s. After reading some of the comments on here I will keep on contacting them in the hope that they pay up.”

D. M. Location Not Given, February 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0.

“I also have had my accounts blocked because they say the level of my activity reflects professional use. This has also happened to other members of my family. I joined Cheeky two years ago and read their terms and conditions then and it seems to me that they have changed them. If so, they didn’t notify me even though I get numerous emails about special bonuses. I don’t deposit very often because I can’t afford to and being disabled means I do play for most of the day. Not only did I enjoy playing the free bingo but people in the chat rooms became like friends. I am not owed as much money as some people who have posted on here but I would still like to get the money I did win back especially the money I won for paid games. If I keep sending emails does anyone think I may get it back? I am wondering as the reason for blocking my accounts is not about bonuses?”

B. B. Location Not Given, February 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £400.

“Mine was I was abusing the free bingo. I just deposited £10 with Costa I am retired so I play bingo all day and they shut down 8 sites I was with, lost about £400”

B.G. Location Not Given, February 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: Undisclosed.

“I’ve had all my accounts closed by cassava for the same reasons as given to you. In fact the wording is identical, this username is the same as my ex-Foxy username, they said I was depositing and when I won I withdrew and made a new deposit, which according to them is abusing the bonus system, I emailed them saying I don’t care about the bonus and would be willing to only play with my money, ie; no bonus, the reply was I should expect to lose some money and wasn’t allowed to withdraw my winnings until I’d spent some and lost? What cheek, they never moaned when I lost up to £500 a week, but once I started to win the problems occurred. They held money of mine which I will never get back as they won’t respond to my emails, only at the beginning did they reply to state I was banned from all their sites for life, I’m gutted as a disabled person Foxy was a way of chatting to new people and gave me something to do, I’ve tried other sites but don’t like any of them.”

J. Location Not Given, February 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £2000.

“I’m disgusted that Cassava seem to block the accounts of everyone that seems to win on their sites. I am the latest victim who has been accused of abusing the bonus. Fortunately, I took screen shots of the banking window before logging out of any bingo session so I have evidence of exactly what is owed to me which totals in excess of £2,000. I’m sure they would love it if I just didn’t cause a fuss and let it go, but i’m sure you’ll agree that’s a significant amount of money that i’m not prepared to walk away from. I will seek legal advice because what they are doing is stealing from people and they need to be stopped.”

S. P. Location Not Given, February 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: Undisclosed.

“I’ve been playing on Wink Bingo for well over a year. I learned to beat the trap of bonus points by reversing withdrawals and adding any winnings to them, then beginning with original deposit plus bonus. I have been very lucky on the site, even winning a PJP of over £1600.00. Every morning I log in and play out the bonus points accumulated the previous day. Two out of three days I would say I have managed to withdraw from that. Today I couldn’t log in. I have now been informed management have decided I am spending too much, and as a responsible gambling site, for this reason they have closed my account. I have a depo limit of about 50 quid a week. I never depo more than 20/30 a day, yet before my working hours were cut down. approximately 6 months ago, I may have done forty or fifty. It is farcical. I really think they saw me as too much a winner. I never receive the cash back they offer from losses through the week, as I never really have losses.”

K. Location Not Given, February 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: Undisclosed.

“This is so shocking, I am to blocked out of my bingo accounts with money still pending, like the story goes you win some (well a little lol) and you lose loads, which is ok, fair play. However you win big Cassava don’t like it, why do people play? I doubt I’ll receive a penny back, sigh! Does anyone? It’s terrible they give you no warning just a nasty e-mail. Cassava Enterprise what a joke!”

H.L. Location Not Given, March 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0.

“I have joined several sites mainly to see which ones I preferred, best prize money, bonuses offered, which ones stayed open overnight etc. A few months ago I decided to self exclude from all but a few simply for the reason that I am now saving for a holiday so I choose to stay playing on only cheeky bingo. A few weeks ago they suddenly blocked me from depositing with no explanation. I later found out it was because I had self excluded from some of their other sites. I had a very rude and almost to the verge of threatening email telling me not to use any of their sites again and if I did they would keep my money and not pay me any winnings I may incur. I emailed them back asking them to give me a list of the sites they operated to prevent me from unwittingly doing this to which they replied they couldn’t do that and I would have to look it up my self. Disgusting treatment to a customer who has spent a lot of money with them. However if I accidentally and unknowingly ever open or use another one of their sites again I would think this is good evidence against them. I will save the email as it may just come in handy one day?”

P. P. Location Not Given, April 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £61,000.

“I won £64,000 on 888Bingo & slots they paid me £3000 in all and will not pay any more. They have blocked me from all their sites, this has shattered my family and has caused great distress, so players take care when going on this site. They said they had found abnormalities in my game play.”

D. F. Location Not Given, April 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Excessive free bingo use.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £0.

“I have not abused the bonus system or self excluded but have been banned from all cassava sites for ‘excessively playing the free games’? I could not see any where that mentioned a limit to playing these games and as a disabled housebound person, this was my only hobby. It seems that since I managed to have a small win, they blocked my account at City. I don’t understand how they can just get away with this, they have bombarded me with emails inviting me to join and play the free games. They advertise on TV etc. I spent all easter weekend trying to make a deposit but my card was blocked and I couldn’t get them to unblock it. Now today I am booted out.”

D.W. Location Not Given, April 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £300.

“I am at loggerheads with Fancy bingo at the moment. They are withholding £300 that I won because I made a mistake by self excluding from one of their other sites, Moon Bingo, instead of closing the account. I told them that I genuinely thought that was how to close my account but they are having none of it. They have offered to refund my initial deposit of £20 as a gesture of goodwill They said self-exclusion was for people who realised they had a gambling addiction. I e-mailed back and said the only reason I closed my Moon Bingo account was because I didn’t like the site, but because of my stupid mistake they won’t give me my money. Surely there’s someone that can help sort this out as it seems to me they are getting away with it a lot. If they withhold £300 off 10 people a week for a year it comes to £156,000. No wonder they don’t give a monkeys if they are making that kind of money from people like myself.”

C. Location Not Given, April 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1000.

“I have also been banned from all 888/Cassava sites. I played responsibly and was winning. They had to make an excuse to close my account and kept about 1000 pounds of my winnings.”

M. Location Not Given, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £225.

“I have same problem, account blocked every free bingo blocked. I not win a lot because I spent on slots. I try contact them but they not response back. My account block but I won on Fancy Bingo £120 and Cheeky £30 and Costa £40, Sing Bingo £35 in all. I’m not getting money they hold money because win from free bingo not my money deposit.”

S. Location Not Given, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £1250.

“I too have been banned from all sites for excluding then opening a new one not knowing that if you exclude you exclude from all sites and cannot open new ones. I deposited several times and eventually won in total £1250 it was after I withdrew this and excluded myself that I was banned I am not sure weather I will receive my winnings I have phoned on several occasions and have been told that they are processing as normal but there is restrictions on my card which might affect them I can but hope that my winnings are refunded.”

M. Location Not Given, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £400.

“My accounts have been closed with Cassava Enterprise today, I phoned them and they told me it was a security issue. I had to e-mail their security department and I am now awaiting a reply. My funds was due to be released later today a total of £400 and i’m hoping they do so, but after reading these post I am doubtful and if they do not release these funds I want all the money I have deposited into their sites.”

A. M. Location Not Given, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £285.

“As for this terrible crime I committed? I deposited £55 and withdrew £285, shocking? Er no.”

B. S. Location Not Given, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: Undisclosed.

“I too have been banned from using all cassava sites – the reason? they have an instant game called Quickfire Lotto and I kept winning playing this game, now I am seriously missing these winnings!”

L. Location Not Given, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Other.

Money owed to player by Cassava: Undisclosed.

“I was blocked from Foxy last July, as was my husband although different email and bank account. His crime was to live in the same house as someone who won more than I deposited. In no way did I cheat (don’t think you can really), just took advantage of bonus offers and played when the odds were in my favour (less people playing for set jackpots). I had quite a lot of money in the account when it was blocked as did he. There seemed to be a lot of people at the time winning a lot of money and I know they are still playing as my mum still has an account and I’ve had a look. How do they manage to stay on the right side of Cassava, or are they fictitious maybe?”

S. S. Location Not Given, May 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £400.

“Got banned from Wink, Foxy, for same reason abusing bonuses, they kept my money around £400, which at time was pending, they should be exposed as fraudsters it’s them that cheats you.”

L. Location Not Given, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £120.

“I’ve played on Costa since it opened and am a gold member on there and have the occasional deposit on a few others to. I usually put a tenner a day on Costa and win a little less back than what I put in but usually withdraw as soon as I get a win over £30 on slots. When I win I lose my bonus anyway but I to have had my account blocked for “abusing bonuses”. I would agree that I’m a non profitable player as I don’t lose lots of money. They owe me £120 pound in pending withdrawals but have told me I wont be receiving these even though they were quite happy to take £140 of deposits out of my bank in the same time frame!”

H. M. Location Not Given, June 2011

Reason given by Cassava for ban: Bonus abuse.

Money owed to player by Cassava: £500.

“I also was ripped off by Cassava Enterprises I took advantage of the 300% bonus they had on offer. I deposited £25 and had £100 to play with. I won several games on bingo and was lucky on instant games I had a £500 pending withdrawal and £107 I was still playing with. They locked my account for similar reasons above, but I dint take this lying down I complained and they offered to pay me £500 (the last amount I had pending).”

Comments on this page are now closed